top of page

4 Camera Settings That Will Improve Your Fireworks Photography

Taking photos of fireworks can be challenging when starting out. However, it is also very satisfying when a beautiful shot is the result of your efforts. Using the following four camera settings that improve fireworks photos will greatly reduce the amount of time needed to learn this art.


Fireworks

1. Use Base ISO.


As a general rule, I almost always use the base ISO which is 100 on my camera. This reduces the risk of taking photos that turn out to be grainy. There are some occasions when taking the ISO up a few notches works out, but for me they are few and far between.


2. Use The Correct F-Stop.


The F-stop controls the camera aperture allowing in more or less light depending on the setting used. When shooting photos of fireworks, I typically start with my camera set somewhere between f12 and f16. This blocks out a lot of the unwanted light that would otherwise interfere with the longer exposures that are used for fireworks photography.


3. Use The Correct Exposure Time.


With the above settings in place and my camera on its tripod, I use bulb mode along with an intervalometer to control my shutter speed. This gives me the freedom to easily change up the shutter speed with each shot I take (without touching the camera). If I notice I am not getting the effect I want I can simply adjust the exposure time up or down to change the resulting images.


4. Manual Focus Mode

Before shooting your shots aim your camera at an object that is way off in the distance allowing it to autofocus. Once this is done, place the camera in manual focus mode before attempting to take your fireworks photos. The focus will not need to be adjusted while taking your pictures.


The camera settings I use are as follows:

ISO: 100

Aperature Setting: F12 - F16

Shutter Speed: 3 to 10 seconds depending on how many fireworks I am attempting to have in a particular shot. I use an intervalometer with the camera set to bulb mode which allows me to change the length of each shot without touching the camera.


- Never leave home without your camera - you never know what you'll miss!


Comments


bottom of page