top of page

A Kansas City Sunset


Friday June 3rd, 2017 my wife and I went out on one of our bi-weekly date nights...... Just the two of us and our cameras. We started off by eating and a BBQ joint named Plow Boys in Blue Springs, Missouri. Being in the mood for something different, I tried the BBQ nachos (which were great).

A Close Up Of Some BBQ Nachos

From there we headed over to check out some pre-built cabins and do a little dreaming about putting one on a piece of property near Truman Lake. After coming back to reality we headed to the Liberty Memorial to take some pictures of a Kansas City sunset.

We started out snapping some shots of the KC skyline and as the evening went by we turned our attention to the setting sun. The photo below is one of my favorites from this adventure. Look closely and you can see a water tower nearly centered in front of the sun.

Sunset From Liberty Memorial

One reason I enjoy taking pictures in the evening and at night is that it simplifies the process of taking long exposure photos by eliminating the need for neutral density filters. Don't get me wrong...I love taking photos with an extended exposure during daylight hours too! With the camera in manual mode it is possible to adjust the exposure to just about any length necessary to capture the desired image.


Because my camera the Canon 80D is capable of shooting video as well as photos, I decided to experiment and take a short time lapse of the hustle and bustle in the city. The video below is the result of fifteen minutes of labor. This little experience taught me that time lapse videos require a lot of patience.

Overall we had a great time enjoying each others company and learning more about our cameras. If you've followed me on any blog for very long you know that I believe it should be a goal to learn something new every time a camera is used. It may not always happen, but by attempting to learn something new you are sure to improve your photography skills and gain a better understanding of your camera.

- Never leave home without your camera, you never know what you'll miss


bottom of page