top of page

A Whirlwind Trip To Florida


Wednesday May 10, 2017 started out as any other normal day. Waking up at 2:30 in the morning I proceeded to prepare for my day at work. I arrived at work about 3:15 AM (I sleep as long as possible before heading to work..... It doesn't hurt that I only live 5 miles from my job.) I took care of the usual morning duties which consists of preparing all of the route paperwork for the route drivers before they begin arriving at 5:30. After getting all of them out the door I proceeded to head out to cover a route for a driver who was not there. By noon I had a relief driver show up on my route so that I could head home and prepare to surprise my children. They were headed to Florida and had no idea that I was going along.


About 1:00 in the afternoon my wife, her mom and our two children piled into the rental car and headed down the road. My wife then texted me to let me know they were on their way back to the house - she had "forgotten" her computer. I gathered my camera, computer and other electronic devices that were going on the trip with me and waited inside the door for her to get back. When she walked in the door, I handed her computer to her and headed out to the car behind her with my backpack full of gear. My wife recorded the following video of the surprise......

Needless to say they didn't seem as surprised as I thought they would, but about two or three hours into the trip it finally sank in with my daughter that I was going along with them. "You really are going aren't you?!" she said somewhere between Columbia and St. Louis Missouri. "My brain is all twisted up....I can't believe you are really going with us!"


This trip was the result of my daughters cheer leading team getting a bid to the G2 Summit National Finals at Disney World in Orlando. My wife's mother drove to the first town where I took over for the remainder of the trip. We were in the car until we made it to Chattanooga Tennessee where I finally decided to pull off the road and find a hotel for a few hours - a decision that ended my twenty-two and a half hour day. The need for a break ended the first day of our trip.


- Never leave home without your camera - you never know what you'll miss!

bottom of page