top of page

A Whirlwind Trip To Florida - Day 5


Sunday arrived and after visiting the Magic Kingdom one last time we made our way to the Animal Kingdom theme park. This was perhaps my favorite of them all. We stopped in to one of the eateries for lunch and then proceeded to check out all the animals and get in some rides. The first of these rides was the Kali River Rapids...... a thrilling water ride in a giant inner tube. Warning: don't get on this ride unless you are prepared to get soaked! After experiencing the cooling affect of this ride we headed over to the Kilimanjaro Safari (a slow paced ride for kids of all ages) for a view of some amazing exotic animals.

Ankole

The ankole cattle are amazing animals with horns that can grow up to eight feet in length!

Ankole Cattle

While on the safari ride, we encountered many different animals native to Africa. Some were more open to being photographed than others.

Flamingos

Pictured above is a group of flamingos showing off their long legs.

Giant Bat

This giant bat was more than willing to have its picture taken.

Beetle

This beetle was hanging out begging to be photographed. I could almost hear it saying "pick me, pick me!"

Zebras are beautiful creatures. This one refused to turn around.

Having a mother who loves giraffes, I had to take this picture.

Mountain Reflections

I am a sucker for pictures with reflections in them and this was no exception. When I saw this photo opportunity I couldn't help but take the picture.

After visiting the Disney Animal Kingdom theme park, I would say this is a must-visit theme park for any nature/animal lover who is planning to visit Disney World. One thing I would recommend is that if you do visit any of the theme parks, do a little research before hand and take advantage of the fast pass option......especially for the safari.


- Never leave home without your camera - you never know what you'll miss!

bottom of page