top of page

Simple Homemade Fire Starters


A few days ago my wife asked me if I would clean out the scented wax burner. I was not too sure how she pulled this off, but soon came up with an idea that would not only get the job done but also provide us with fire starters for our camping trips.


Scentsy Air Freshener Wax Melter

Having both a wife and daughter in the house we are never without cotton rounds. They seem to use these for all kinds of things. I now have a use for them too....


Package of Cotton Rounds

I pulled a couple of these cotton rounds out of the package and proceeded place them in the hot wax one at a time allowing them to soak it up. This worked perfectly to clean out the melting pot of wax. The next picture shows a single cotton round like the ones I used for this task.

Cotton Round To Soak Up Wax

As each one filled with hot wax I placed them on a paper plate to dry flipping them over a couple of times to prevent them from sticking to the plate. Within a few minutes they were dry and cool enough to place in a plastic for storage until they are needed to start a fire.



Above is a picture of the cotton rounds as they were drying on the plate. Cotton rounds can be purchased at Wal-Mart or any local pharmacy store. Next time this project comes up on your honey-do list, remember to grab the cotton rounds and add some fire starters to your camping supplies.


- Any day in the outdoors is a good day!

bottom of page