top of page

Achieve Pinpoint Accuracy With Your Compound Bow


With all of the gizmos and gadgets available for today's bow hunters it has become almost impossible to miss your intended target. However, there are always new items being added to the market that will enable you to become even more accurate with your shots. By combining some of these items along with proper practice sessions and you will be able to achieve pinpoint accuracy with your compound bow.


The Trophy Ridge React 5 Pin Sight is one of the items I chose to use on my bow in order to improve my shooting. Using this sight allows the shooter to make any necessary adjustments in the field without the use of tools. It was a bit pricey, but completely worth it to me as it allows me to spend less time fighting with the pin placement on my sight and more time practicing. Not only does this sight eliminate the need for using tools to adjust your sight, but it automatically sets your 40, 50 and 60 yard pins as the 20 and 30 yard pins are set! Because I didn't believe this could be true I decided to buy one and give it a go..... I figured I could always return once I proved that it wasn't reliable. However, to my surprise I found it to be quite accurate, and was on the target in no time!




Enough about my pin sight. If you want to achieve pinpoint accuracy with your compound bow, force yourself out of your comfort zone. Begin practicing from the 40, 50 and even 60 yard range. Take it out even further if you want, but don't lock yourself in at those shorter distances. Although it is unlikely that you will be shooting at your prey from these distances, you will begin to see a vast difference in your 20 and 30 yard shots after practicing from farther away. A shot that is off by just one inch at 20 yards would almost definitely miss the target when shot from a range of 60 yards. However, when you are able to consistently nail the bullseye from 50 and 60 yards, you will likely be dead center from 20 or 30 yards.


Long Range Practice Will Improve Accuracy

If you are only practicing with your bow at 20 or even 30 yards you are cheating yourself out of massive skill improvement. You will also never know the satisfaction of making a successful long range shot. This is not to say that you should quit practicing from the shorter distances. I'm simply saying that those longer shots will make all the difference in the world when that big buck steps out in front of you this fall.

- Any day in the outdoors is a good day

bottom of page