top of page

Photographing The Missouri River


Today my son and I headed into the outdoors to take some photographs (and hopefully learn some new photography techniques). I was shooting my photos with a Canon 80D DSLR. The first photos were taken with automatic settings and no filters. Below is one of the pictures that resulted from these shots.

Photo Of Missouri River Without A Filter

Having never attempted long exposure photography I decided to give it a try. Because I was wanting to experiment with my camera, I decided to attempt taking these photos in bulb mode with a 10 stop ND filter and an intervalometer. I set my camera to f22 with an ISO of 100. The exposure was around 30 seconds. Below is one of the images I came up with using this method.

Long Exposure Photo Of Missouri River

I think this was a decent photo considering I have minimal experience with this technique. The black and white image was an afterthought and I finished the photo with a bit of post processing in Canon's Digital Photo Professional 4. Smoothing out the rushing water of the Missouri River was my main objective when I took this shot.


My goal is to learn something every time I take take a photo, and this trip to the river didn't let me down.


- Never leave home without your camera...You never know what you'll miss!

bottom of page